Limited playerbase growth

Discussion in 'Speakers‘ Corner' started by silverseas, Apr 6, 2018.

Dear forum reader,

if you’d like to actively participate on the forum by joining discussions or starting your own threads or topics, please log into the game first. If you do not have a game account, you will need to register for one. We look forward to your next visit! CLICK HERE
  1. silverseas

silverseas Count Count

I started playing DSO in September of 2013 or so, and the only reason I found it was because I was combing through sites that did reviews of videogames and stumbled upon descriptions of this game. As it was very similar to the game I enjoyed previously, I fell in love with it almost immediately. :D

Now thing is... most players are not going to spend as much time as I did combing through gaming sites to find this game. Many people I have talked to when playing other games have no idea DSO even exists.

So, I have a proposal for the BigPoint staff. Advertise your game. Seriously. This means:
    • Divert funding to actually advertising your game. Don't just rely on word of mouth - it hasn't done a good enough job in the last 5 years, it's not going to do a good enough job now. You have great artists on your team, just get them to work on putting some pretty pictures and pay for the appropriate advertising presence.
    • Make proper use of your social media presence - especially Twitch.
    • Find out how to get your game recognized by other gaming software to make it easier for your players to literally advertise your presence for you (eg. Discord).
      • Quite literally: players who are currently playing the game will show as playing "Drakensang Online" so that their contacts can view it. Right now it has to be manually set, which is a major disadvantage compared to other games.