Wine and Qt5 error

Discussion in 'General Archive' started by brianinthered, Nov 8, 2014.

Dear forum reader,

if you’d like to actively participate on the forum by joining discussions or starting your own threads or topics, please log into the game first. If you do not have a game account, you will need to register for one. We look forward to your next visit! CLICK HERE
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. brianinthered

brianinthered Forum Greenhorn

I know Drakensang doesn't support Linux, but I've been running it in Wine for almost 2 years now. I've never had a problem... never! Drakensang is my go-to game for testing Wine and PlayOnLinux and it has ALWAYS worked.
    It runs so well that I have posted multiple step-by-step guides on how to install and run it.

All of a sudden a week or two ago I started getting this error:
    This application failed to start because it could not find or load the Qt platform or plugin "windows"

I have never seen an error like this in almost 2 years (just to re-iterate)
    I have done some research and posted my findings in detail at the PlayOnLinux forums.

I'm guessing that Drakensang is now using Qt5 and Wine is not compatible. I have yet to find a work-around for it as well.
    Other clients in Wine like Battle.net and Origin just require setting Wine as Windows XP, but this doesn't work for Drakensang.

There are some path issues I've read about when people develop with Qt, but it appears Drakensang devs have done all of their work with providing the correct libraries and the platforms folder.

So I know this is a problem with Wine. If anyone is having a similar problem, please post and let works on getting a solution. I really miss playing Drakensang in Linux.

Last edited: Nov 14, 2014
  2. Tigraine-Mantear

Tigraine-Mantear Someday Author

We were trying to get DSO working on Mint using Wine. We are getting the same error message. So far I can't find any suitable solution.